The Bauchi State House of Assembly is currently embroiled in crisis of interest as two speakers emerged following the inauguration of the 9th Assembly on Thursday.

The drama started when after the inauguration, eight lawmakers of the minority People’s Democratic Party (PDP) with three of the majority All Progressives Congress (APC) elected Abubakar Suleiman, an APC member, who represents Ningi constituency as the speaker.

The eight members of the PDP and three others from the APC and NNPP stormed the House, locked out the remaining APC members-elect and held the inaugural sitting during which the two principal officers were elected at about 6:00 am.

Ahmed Kawule of the PDP representing Zungur/Galambi/Miri Constituency was elected deputy speaker.

The other members of the APC, who were prevented from gaining access in the chambers of the assembly elected the former speaker, Kawuwa Shehu Damina as the new speaker.

The remaining APC members-elect got to the Assembly complex and were prevented from gaining access into the chambers, resorted to holding their own inaugural sitting outside without the mace.

651 Replies to “Confusion As Bauchi Assembly Elects Two House Speakers”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.